Senegalese Surprises

29 May

Hi, everyone. I’m Roni Weiss. I’ll be talking about some of the things that I’ve found particularly intriguing about Senegal.

Dakar

“Where is Senegal?” was a common response when I said that I was coming to the 36th ATA Congress.

Location of Senegal within the African Union

Answer: It’s as far west in Africa as you can get. Senegal borders the Atlantic Ocean. Another peculiarity of its geography is that it envelops its sister nation of The Gambia (other than where the ocean takes over). The phrase I’ve heard for Senegambia (a term that has been thrown around a bunch at the Congress) is that it is “one house with two rooms”.

Gambian Tourism Minister Hon. Fatou Mas Jobe-Njie and Senegalese Tourism Minister Hon. Thierno Lo

OK, so why are Senegal and The Gambia different countries?

I was told by a Senegalese guy that this was an excellent question… And then didn’t really get an answer. So, I researched a bit myself. Apparently, they were in a confederation for a good portion of the 1980’s, but it didn’t work out. Despite this, the two countries maintain close ties, as they have a lot of common ethnicity and language.

2 Responses to “Senegalese Surprises”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How a Consumer Travel Show Changed My Life | roniweiss.com - April 3, 2013

    […] of my real name), made some YouTube videos (where I got to meet Chef Pierre Thiam) and wrote blog posts. For a few days, I hobnobbed with travel ministers and other high-level delegates and was mentioned […]

  2. "Why haven't you been to Africa?" | The Official Roni Weiss Blog - May 31, 2011

    […] tons of stories to tell from my time here. So far, all I’ve done is put a few pix up to help the one blog post I’ve had time to post on their blog (which I […]

Comments are closed.

